Weather Forecast


Two Harbors Council appoints new leadership

The Two Harbors City Council appointed a new council president and vice president at the Monday, Jan. 8, meeting.

City Councilor Miles Woodruff, Ward 1, was voted council president, replacing Councilor Cathy Erickson, Ward 3.

Erickson was initially nominated for president, but the motion failed 4-2 with Councilor Jerry Norberg abstaining and Chris Swanson, Miles Woodruff, Frank McQuade and Craig Jussila opposed.

A motion was then made to nominate Woodruff. The motion passed 5-1 with Robin Glaser casting the lone nay vote and Norberg again abstaining.

With the meeting turned over to Woodruff, a motion was made to nominate Erickson as council vice president. The motion passed unanimously.

Erickson replaced At Large City Councilor Robin Glaser as vice president.