Weather Forecast


Sports roundup: March 21

The students that lettered in three sports show off their plaques. Photo by Jill Innis.1 / 4
The top 10 scholar-athletes pose with their awards. Photo by Jill Innis.2 / 4
All of the team MVPs pose with their awards. Photo by Jill Innis.3 / 4
Kyle Omtvedt and Lane Schraufnagel with the two awards they both won: the Agate Award and the American Legion awards. Photo by Jill Innis.4 / 4

Polar League all-stars play in TH Monday

The conference all-stars will grace the Two Harbors basketball courts next Monday.

Every year, the coaches in the Polar League Conference vote on the top players in the area. Then, they play in an exhibition game which Two Harbors is hosting this year. As a special treat, three Two Harbors players will be on the court. Lane Schraufnagel, a senior on the girls’ basketball team, was named an all-star. For the boys, junior Alex Lemke and senior Kyle Omtvedt were chosen.

The games take place on Monday, March 24. The girls play at 6 p.m. and the boys start immediately after the girls’ game ends, likely at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are $5.

Athletic awards handed out

Two Harbors honored its student athletes this week at the annual spring banquet. Awards were handed out across the board, from those excelling in sports to those who keep their GPAs as high as their points-per-game.

Top 10 Scholar-Athletes

Lindsay Anderson

Owen Cruikshank

Eli Hebl

Claire Hoffert

Krista Keranen

Allison Nowacki

Kyle Omtvedt

Dennis Pearson

Lane Schraufnagel

Skylar Thompson

Tri-Letter Award

Lindsay Anderson

Owen Cruikshank

Eli Hebl

Corey Johnson

Mills Johnson

Mike Nordean

Kyle Omtvedt

Brad Smith

Team MVPs

Softball (2013): Savannah Juenemann

Baseball (2013): Tim Bott, Lucas Kempffer and Kyle Omtvedt

Boys’ track (2013): Drew Christensen

Girls’ track (2013): Leann Fynboh

Girls’ golf (2013): Scotti Berg

Volleyball: Mia Minkkinen

Football: Mike Nordean

Girls’ swimming: Leann Fynboh

Girls’ diving: Chelsea Kolkin

Boys’ basketball: Alex Lemke

Girls’ basketball: Lane Schraufnagel

Girls’ soccer: Briana Stuberud

Boys’ soccer: Brad Smith

Boys’ Nordic ski: Everett Hommes

Girls’ Nordic ski: Marina Schreiner

Other awards:

Alseth Award: Owen Cruikshank and Claire Hoffert

Agate Award: Kyle Omtvedt and Lane Schraufnagel

American Legion Senior Athlete: Kyle Omtvedt

American Legion Auxiliary Senior Athlete: Lane Schraufnagel

Two Harbors Fire Dept. Award: Mia Minkkinen and Kyle Omtvedt

ExCEL Award: Linnea Nelson and Everett Hommes

Triple AAA Award: Claire Hoffert and Owen Cruikshank

LaReesa Sandretsky
LaReesa Sandretsky is a Two Harbors High School graduate and Duluth native who began working at the News-Chronicle in 2012 as a reporter. She took over as editor in 2014. She covers County Board, including the Lake County broadband project.
(218) 834-2141