Weather Forecast


Bayside Chatter: April 12

Softball still in the gym

The Mariner softball team got outside for two practices on their field before Mother Nature vetoed that idea. It looks like another week until outdoor ball resumes. The game with Floodwood has been canceled due to the Polar Bears not being able to field a team. The earliest likelihood of a game now would be today at South Ridge.

Speaking of South Ridge, they have been accepted into the Polar League Conference giving the conference a total of 12 teams. The conference will now be divided into two six-team divisions, based on enrollment, for boys' and girls' basketball and volleyball. The Blue Division will have the schools with the bigger numbers going from top to bottom as Esko, Two Harbors, Moose Lake, Barnum, Cook County and South Ridge. Likewise, the White Division with smaller school enrollment numbers will have, Silver Bay, Carlton, Wrenshall, Floodwood, McGregor and Cromwell.

Senior Kyle Blood was named first team all- conference in basketball. He attained the career mark of 1,000 points this season and finished his career with 1,361. He led the Polar League in scoring with 491 points for an average of 24.6. He was ninth in rebounding, fifth in assists, second in steals, eighth in field goal percentages, 11th in 3-point average and 13th in free throw percentages.

Senior Alicia Nopola was named to the Polar League second team in basketball and also breached the 1,000 point barrier this season. She was second in conference scoring with 494 points for an average of 20.6. She was first in rebounding with 300 for an average of 12.5 per game, fifth in field goal percentages at 44.3 and eighth in free throw percentages at 61.8.

Anna Carman of the Mariners has made the Section 7 Select 17 hockey team, which will play in the Minnesota Hockey Spring Festival in Plymouth April 19-21.

College updates

Former Mariner Daniel Wilson is a freshman member of the Fond du Lac Thunder baseball team this spring.

The Frozen Four began yesterday at Pittsburgh and consists of four teams that have never won the trophy. Yale, in 1952, is the only team to have made it before. Drew LeBlanc of St. Cloud is one of three finalists for the Hobey Baker award along with forward Johnny Gaudreau of Boston College and goaltender Eric Hartzell of Quinnipiac.

Vikings' picks

Here's a list of players projected to be taken with the Vikings two first round draft picks by various mock drafts. They are: DTs, Sylvester Williams of North Carolina, Jonathan Hankins of Ohio State, Jonathan Jenkins of Georgia and Star Lotulelei of Utah, DE Datone Jones of UCLA, CBs Tharold Simon of LSU and Desmond Taufant of Washington, LB Manti Te'O of Notre Dame, QB Geno Smith of West Virginia and WRs Andre Hopkins of Clemson, Keenan Allen of California, Cordarrelle Patterson, Da'Rick Rogers, and Justin Hunter all of Tennesse.