Weather Forecast


Team Osbakken headed to national championship

Team Osbakken, made up of Courtney Osbakken (skip), Fayth Yecoshenko (vice), Emma Bromenschenkel (second) and Rebecca Miles (lead) became the 2014 Minnesota State Junior Women’s Champion at the end of 2013. The playdown games were held at the Duluth Curling Club Dec. 26-29.

0 Talk about it

Team Osbakken members started the season this summer by attending camp. Later in the summer, they were selected to participate at a high performance curling camp near the Twin Cities.

All four girls have full membership at both Two Harbors and Duluth curling clubs. They participate in the Monday league in Two Harbors, and the Tuesday and Thursday leagues in Duluth. Bromenschenkel has a third membership at the Itasca Curling Club in Grand Rapids. They have curled several bonspiels including Brainerd, Madison and Rice Lake, where their team took first.

The girls now move onto the USA Junior Curling National Championships representing Minnesota at the Granite Curling Club in Seattle, Wash., Jan. 24-Feb. 2. At this event, the team will compete against nine USA women’s teams for the chance to participate in the world championships in Flims, Switzerland at the end of February 2014.

LaReesa Sandretsky
LaReesa Sandretsky is a Two Harbors High School graduate and Duluth native who began working at the News-Chronicle in 2012 as a reporter. She took over as editor in 2014. She covers County Board, including the Lake County broadband project.
(218) 834-2141