Weather Forecast


Mariners hand out athletic awards

The Mariners handed out their athletic awards for the 2016-17 school year on May 8.

The Lee Christiansen Memorial Award went to Brooke McMillen who was also named the Female Senior Athlete of the Year. Tanner Ketola was named the Male Senior Athlete of the Year. Stew Carlson won the John Crego Award as Fan of the Year.

Triple Athlete Winner Awards went to seniors Zach Lewis, Hunter Monson, Brooke McMillen, Tanner Ketola, Nick Perfetto and Kayla Klofstad.

Polar League Academic Awards went to Nick Perfetto, Jenny Walewski, Mita Frericks, Zach Lewis, Brooke McMillen, Ashley Evans, Jason Blood and Tanner Ketola. Gunnar Frahm was a section finalists for Arts and Athletics Academic achievement.


• Top defensive player — Jason Blood & Tanner Ketola

• Top freshman — Mason Ollman

• Top receiver — Jason Blood

• Top running back — Giovanni Marolt

• Top lineman — Nick Perfetto

• Top offensive player — Tanner Ketola

• All District honorable mention — Nick Perfetto

• All District — Tanner Ketola, Jason Blood & Giovanni Marolt

• All State Academic — Tanner Ketola


• Coach Tom Frericks received a Polar League merit award

• Top serving percentage — Jenny Walewski

• Most ace serves — Cora Carter

• Team award — Brooke McMillen

• Team award and most kills — Kayla Klofstad

• Most blocks — Alexa DeQuevedo

• Best defensive player — Hattie Koehler

• All Conference — Hattie Koehler & Kayla Klofstad


• The North Shore Storm repeated as the section 7A academic champions with a GPA of 3.68 which was second in the state.

• Most determined and hardest working player — Giovanni Marolt

• MVP and top scorer — Tanner Ketola


• Coaches award for work ethic — Everly Bauck

• Points award — Brooke McMillen

• Academic All State — Brooke McMillen


• Mr. Hustle award — Dave Schober

• Most improved player — Hunter Monson

• Best defensive player — Zach Lewis

• Best offensive player — Jason Blood

• Best rebounder — Weston Monson

• Best shooter — Jerry Congious III

• All Conference — Hunter Monson & Jason Blood


• Most Improved — Hannah Thums & Corrina Marolt

• Hustle award — Natalie Nelson

• Ironman award — Mita Frericks

• Toughness award — Jenny Walewski

• Best defensive player — Sylvia Davey

• Performance award — Lily Mead

• All Conference — Jocelyn Russell

Spring sports have not yet done their season end awards.