Weather Forecast


Silver Bay council election to be competitive

Six new candidates filed to fill two Silver Bay City Council seats in this November's elections.
Current councilors Steve Marolt and Dave Gustafson are both stepping down. Marolt resigned earlier this year and Gustafson didn't file for reelection.
Silver Bay voters will pick two new faces from the field, which is comprised of Richard DeRosier, Shane Hoff, Charles Rathbone, Ken Smith, Jack Swanson and Charles Wall, Jr.Former Silver Bay mayor Scott Johnson, who was ousted by current mayor Joanne Johnson in 2012, filed again to challenge Joanne this fall.In Beaver Bay, Mayor Kent Shamblin will again run unopposed. Linda Malzac is the only candidate for two open council seats.The Lake Superior School District School Board will have at least one new face this year. Lauri Hohman and Mark LeBlanc both filed for the Silver Bay District 1 seat, which was previously held by Carol Youngberg. Paul Borg, the member for District 2, will be challenged by Russell Vance. Tom Burns, the incumbent, will run unopposed for his District 5 seat.
In Beaver Bay Township, all of the candidates will run unopposed -- Thomas "Charlie" Byrnes for Supervisor A,  Jerry Larson for Supervisor C and Heidi Ellefson for Town Treasurer.The filing period for offices in municipalities and school districts that don't hold primaries ended Aug. 12. Candidates for Two Harbors and Lake County offices filed in early June.Elections for federal, statewide and local offices will take place on Nov. 4.
LaReesa Sandretsky
LaReesa Sandretsky is a Two Harbors High School graduate and Duluth native who began working at the News-Chronicle in 2012 as a reporter. She took over as editor in 2014. She covers County Board, including the Lake County broadband project.
(218) 834-2141